2022-DateBar

WOMEN IN ANIMATION PRESENTS:

GENDER JUSTICE: A GLOBAL CALL FOR INCLUSION IN ANIMATION

WIA is a nonprofit dedicated to advancing people of underrepresented gender identities — women, transgender and nonbinary individuals — in the field of animation. The 2022 WIA World Summit at Annecy Film Festival will focus on addressing the issue of “Gender Justice: A Global Call for Inclusion in Animation.”

Join WIA for a day-long discussion on Gender Justice and how it can be one solution to the animation industry workforce shortage. 

Gender Justice is a system of equity and fairness for people of all genders, including men, women, transgender, and nonbinary individuals. In a world with gender justice, people of all genders participate in defining and shaping the policies, structures, and decisions that affect their lives and society. As a result, all people have the power and access to opportunities to improve their lives.

View the program schedule below which includes a series of thought provoking discussions and panels featuring a diverse group of speakers from across the Animation Industry.

2022 WIA World Summit Artwork

Artist: Hyesu Lee

This year’s World Summit logo was designed by Hyesu Lee. Born and raised in Seoul, South Korea, Lee has always been driven by a curiosity about how people connect. Although very shy, she used her art as a way to observe and learn about the people around them. Art, as she says, has no language barrier. In her mid-twenties, Lee went to study abroad in the UK, where she graduated from the University of Arts London with a BA in Illustration. She then moved to New York City where she earned an MFA from the School of Visual Arts. Now based in Brooklyn, she is an established and sought-out illustrator, artist, muralist, and educator.

Watch Video Of The 2022 Summit Here!

The 2022 Women in Animation World Summit videos from June 13th are below, click on either the morning or afternoon session videos to watch the discussion panels.

Morning Events Video

2022 WIA World Summit - Morning Session

Afternoon Events Video

2022 WIA World Summit - Afternoon Session

PROGRAM SCHEDULE

9:30AM CEST (12:30AM PST)


OPENING/WELCOME

SPEAKERS (Click to expand)

MARGE DEAN


President WIA
Head of Studio, Skybound Entertainment

MICKAËL MARIN


Director, Annecy Film Festival and MIFA

VERONIQUE ENCRENAZ


Head of MIFA

9:40AM CEST (12:40AM PST)


THEME INTRODUCTION

SPEAKERS (Click to expand)

JULIE ANN CROMMETT


WIA Secretary,
Founder and CEO, Moxie Collective

10:00AM CEST (1:00AM PST)


WHAT DOES GENDER JUSTICE LOOK LIKE AROUND THE GLOBE?

There is no “one size fits all” solution for gender justice, and its challenges around the world vary as much as geography does. This discussion features voices from around the globe that express what women, nonbinary, and transgender people face in the international animation industry and what gender equity looks like for them.

SPEAKERS (Click to expand)

ELEANOR COLEMAN (Moderator)


Vice President Les Femmes s’Animent (LFA)

MOUNIA ARAM


Founder & President Mounia Aram Company

SARASWATHI VANI BALGAM


Creator & Director, Dancing Atoms 

PAULA BOFFO


Director, Comic Artist Ojo Raro

MAUREEN FAN


CEO & Co-Founder Baobob Studios

11:00AM CEST (2:00AM PST)


HOW IS GENDER JUSTICE A SOLUTION FOR THE LABOR SHORTAGE?

The animation industry is experiencing a workforce shortage. This panel talks about the future of animation labor as well as how people from underrepresented genders are uniquely positioned to help provide solutions to this very real problem.

SPEAKERS (Click to expand)

JILL HOPPER (Moderator)


Head of Global Production Planning & Strategy,  DreamWorks Animation

ADRIANNA COHEN


SVP/Global Head of Production for Features & Episodics,
Mikros Animation

CAMILLE EDEN


Vice President,
Recruitment/Talent Development/     Outreach
Nickelodeon Animation

PIERRE PERIFEL


Director, DreamWorks Animation

DAVID PRESCOTT


Senior Vice President, Creative Productions,
DNEG Animation

 

12:30 – 2:15PM CEST (3:30AM – 5:15AM PST) – LUNCH

2:30PM CEST (5:30AM PST)


CASE STUDIES: GENDER INCLUSION PROGRAMS

Several organizations share how their Gender Inclusion programs are increasing access for underrepresented people into the animation workforce around the globe.

SPEAKERS (Click to expand)

JENA OLSON (Moderator)


Head Of Operations, WIA

DEEPA JOSHI


Co-CEO, Incessant Rains

DELPHINE NICOLINI


Artistic Producer,
Les Femmes s’Animent (LFA)

SAJDA OUACHTOUKI


Senior Manager, Global Public Policy
The Walt Disney Company
(Sponsor of the Stories x Women Program)

MILES PERKINS


UE Business Director, Media & Entertainment, Epic Games

VANESSA SINDEN


Producer, Triggerfish

3:45PM CEST (6:45AM PST)


FIRESIDE CHAT – INCLUSIVE HIRING: SOLVING THE ANIMATION LABOR SHORTAGE

Leaders in global creative talent development, animation, and DEI will recap the day’s learnings and discuss the importance of intentional, inclusive talent development as multi-pronged and critical in addressing the needs for unique storytelling, artistic authenticity, and labor shortage solutions in the animation industry.

SPEAKERS (Click to expand)

JULIE ANN CROMMETT (Moderator)


WIA Secretary,
Founder and CEO, Moxie Collective

MARYA BANGEE


Vice President of RISE – Representation and Inclusion Strategies,
The Walt Disney Studios

CHRIS MACK


Director, Grow Creative
Netflix

JANINE WEIGOLD


Manager, Animated Series EMEA
Netflix

4:45PM CEST (7:45AM PST) – CLOSING REMARKS

SPEAKERS (Click to expand)

MARGE DEAN


President WIA
Head of Studio, Skybound Entertainment

JULIE ANN CROMMETT


WIA Secretary,
Founder and CEO, Moxie Collective

We want to thank our generous Global Fund Sponsors who made this event possible.

 

 

LEADERSHIP CIRCLE

PARTNER CIRCLE

SUPPORTER CIRCLE